Book Favourites

7-13 Year Old Jade’s Favourite Books

Hello everyone! Today I thought I’d do something a little different and take you back in time to little Jade to share with you her (my?) favourite books!

I have always been a giant bookworm, though for several years I was a closet bookworm (or late night bookworm – I don’t know what it’s called) because reading wasn’t “cool” and I got bullied for it, but now I have fully embraced my nerdy bookworm. You should all know by now that I want to be an author myself, an ambition I’ve had since I was around 8 years old when I’d write (terrible) stories in my spare time, and these authors books were some of my greatest inspirations.

Unfortunately I no longer own any of these books to take photographs of or if I do they are hidden in the attack somewhere which I would try to find but a) there are too many spiders up there and b) it would take me 1 and a half years to find them (not exaggerating – maybe exaggerating a little).

  • Mates, Dates Series – Cathy Hopkins

I was obsessed with this series, I honestly think I read them around 8-10 times and that’s not an exaggeration. The series was written by Cathy Hopkins, written with teenagers in mind. The books follow the lives of Lucy, Izzie, Nesta and TJ (added from the fourth book onwards) and each book is written in one of the girl’s perspectives with whichever topic follows the “Mates, Dates” title. 

  • Truth, Dare, Kiss or Promise Series – Cathy Hopkins

This series goes alongside Mates, Dates with different teenagers narrating the stories, and eventually the two series crossover and the characters meet. The storyline is based around the classic game of truth or dare, and again keeping with Hopkins style of each book showing one of the friends perspective. This time it follows the lives of 5 other teenagers; Cat, Becca, Lia, Squidge and Mac. As you can probably tell from the names, these books also followed the lives of boys (Squidge and Mac) which at the time was interesting to read for me because younger Jade hardly ever read any books with a male perspective.

  • Cinnamon Girl Series – Cathy Hopkins

Are you sensing a Cathy Hopkins theme going on here? Seriously younger Jade, expand your bookshelf… This series follows India Jane who has to cope with moving house, making new friends, and all the teenage dramas we all faced at one point in our lives! Again, younger Jade wanting to grow up too fast and experience first dates and first kisses and all that found this series amazing, (note to younger Jade – don’t grow up, the world isn’t the amazing place you imagined it to be).

  • All of Jaqueline Wilson’s books

Jaqueline Wilson’s books flooded my bookshelf. I used to read them over and over again, and I’d always be excited for a new release but for me my favourite of all time was Tracy Beaker. I found Tracy’s antics hilarious, and she’s just an excellent, well-rounded character.

  • The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

This was my all time favourite childhood novel. I fell in love with the storyline and desperately wanted my own secret garden. I’d dream of the garden and how I would explore it (strangely I hate gardening). I love the character progression of Mary Lennox from a spoiled and rude child to a kind and generous one. 

Let me know if any of these were your favourite books as a child? Or tell me some of your own in the comments!

I’d like to apologise for the lack of Wednesday posts; they shall be gone for another month until my exams are finished I’m afraid! Also I’m sorry if I’m not as a active your wonderful blogs, it pains me not to read them but I just haven’t got the time. I will read them in bulk when I find time! 

Thank you for reading this post! Hope you’ve had a lovely day!

Jade Anna x

6 thoughts on “7-13 Year Old Jade’s Favourite Books

  1. Nice post! It’s fantastic that you love reading! In Poland where I live there are people who read only one book in a year or they don’t read anything!! It’s horrible 😐 Fortunately there are also bookworms! I love to read but I never have time to read something (cause SCHOOL…) and I read only my set books. My summer holidays are coming so I’ll read all the time 🙂
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

