Book Favourites

My Top 5 Favourite Life Changing YA Novels

Hello there! Today I’m starting a new series on my blog where I share with you my top five favourite books of a particular genre. For example in the future you may see my top five favourite horror novels, or fantasy, or my favourite series, just to name a few. But this week I’m starting with my top five favourite young adult novels that will change your life.

So if you don’t know already, I want to be an author. And the genre I want to write in particular is YA fantasy. Not that this post has anything remotely fantasy themed, but I do enjoy discovering new YA novels and their authors to learn from and help me to improve my writing.

5. Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell

This storyline has made me change my outlook on how I perceive people, not that I was a judge-y person beforehand, but this book really broadens your outlook on people and life. It’s such a lovely story, that perfectly tackles bullying, stereotypes, and relationships.

4. The Fault in our Stars – John Green

This book took the world by storm, and by reading it, it’s pretty clear why! It really makes you consider time and how valuable it is to spend with the people you love, doing the things you love.

3. Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher

This story has recently gone world wide in the form of the new Netflix series (which no I have not watched, yet). I first read this novel around three years ago, and I could not put it down. As soon as I finished reading it, I started recommending it to everyone. It reminds you of the butterfly effect and how the smallest actions can escalate and become something so huge it gets out of control.

2. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

This beautiful novel has haunted me since reading it. I cannot stop thinking about Liesel’s story. Obviously the storyline is of a major part of our world history, but thinking about it without considering the history of the war and prejudice against Jews, it makes you appreciate the power of friendship and how small friendly actions can have a huge positive impact on a persons life.

Here’s my more in depth review of this novel – The Book Thief

1. All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

My number one life changing YA novel. I read this when I was probably at my darkest mentally degrading moment, where all the suicidal and depressing moments were highly relevant to me. This book really made me appreciate the support I receive from my family and close friends, and provided me with the courage to open up about my depression and suicide attempts.

Here’s my more in depth review of this novel – All The Bright Places

Let me know if you’ve read any of these, or if you have any life changing YA novels that you think I may enjoy!

Thank you for reading this blog post!

Jade Anna x

34 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favourite Life Changing YA Novels

    1. I hope you enjoy it! No I haven’t yet, its on my ‘to buy’ list but my tbr list is so long I’m on a book buying ban currently! I definitely will read it asap though☺️ thank you!♥️

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great Post! With your writing talent and pursuits I have faith you will achieve you YA Fantasy writer deeps soon, and I’ll be waiting to read your first novel 🙂
    I’ve recently been trying to get back into reading YA Fiction, not particularly fantasy but anything in the genre. I normally review novels that I know will appeal to readers of all ages. I recently read Lang Leav’s Sad Girls – a coming-of-age romance novel with a chilling twist. Additionally The Night Circus (does that count as YA?) I found has been one of the best fantasy novels I’ve read yet. A great romantic read that goes back and forth in narrative time with multiple focalizers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

