Discussion

Why I am a Reader

Hello there! I’ve seen a few of these tags floating around other blogs and I was really excited to give it a go and share my own answers to the questions.

One word that would describe you as a reader?

Curious.

What is the first book that made you fall in love with reading?

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Hardcover or paperback?

I love hardcover books. They are gorgeous, look great on my shelves and are aesthetically pleasing. However, they are difficult to read; the amount of times I have hurt my wrists or my back from hunching over to read hardcover books at a difficult angle because they are just too difficult to hold! So for me, I prefer a paperback. They are more flexible, more portable and I do love the variety of colours and designs from the cover illustrators. Also dust jackets kind of annoy me, I always have to take them off before reading a hardcover book with a dust jacket because they just crumple and get in the way!

How has reading shaped your identity?

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” – George R.R. Martin

I feel this is the best way to sum up how reading has shaped my identity. I read because I can experience the world through other people’s viewpoints and I think that is amazing. It has definitely shaped me as a person because the beliefs and values I hold so close to me are certainly inspired by all the lives I have lived sharing other characters lives, suffering, joy, love, and every other emotion you feel when reading.

What book do you read when you want to be comforted?

When I need to be comforted I find a fluffy romance novel to be the best solution. But saying that, if I’m going through a difficult or particularly anxious period, Harry Potter is 100% the series I go straight towards since: “Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.” – J.K. Rowling.

Who influenced you or taught you to be a reader?

I don’t think anyone ever influenced me to be a reader. My parents encouraged both my brother and I to read from a young age, but they never forced reading upon us. Often I found it was the only way I could get to sleep. I have been a bookworm since I could read. Through school I’d breeze through the reading one-on-one classes, and silent reading was by far my favourite part of the day.

Describe your dream reading lounge.

When I have my own house, I want my office to be my library. I want bookshelves on all the walls, full with books, to read and inspire my writing. I love colour so I want it to be rich in colour, every colour, and I want it to have a magical vibe to it!

What book changed how you saw the world?

I feel that every single book has the power to change how you see the world. Each novel possesses an enriching ability to change or alter your version of the world, which I think is incredible. I’m afraid to disappoint you, but I can’t choose any one book for this question because every single book has changed my view of the world in one way or another!

Thank you for reading this little book tag. I had a lot of fun answering the questions. Hope you enjoyed this post!

Jade Anna x


 

20 thoughts on “Why I am a Reader

  1. Life is literature and literature is life. My dream has always been to have a personal library in my own home, with bookshelves on all the walls, full with books too! (:

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey! ^^
    You’ve written a beautiful post!
    At first – sorry, if I make any mistakes. I’m not English or American. I come from Poland so English isn’t my ethnic language. I’m good at it but I am not perfect like you!
    We have very similar tastes! 😉
    I love reading books too ❤ When I was little girl and I couldn't read, my parent read books and I listened them. It was fantastic for me! When I was 7-9 years old, after school I was sitting on my bed and I was reading lots of books. It was my hobby. Now, when I'm 13, almost 14 I haven't got time… Teachers in Poland love giving lots of homework, doing tests so learning and doing homework take me too much time. I can't read my lovely books! 😦 In fact I read only set books. Other books I can read only on my summer holidays when I don't go to school.
    I also like "The Secret Garden" (the title in Polish is "Tajemniczy ogród", ha ha XD). That book was my set book one year ago. And I have a good opinion about it. It can teach the other people about tolerance, hope, support… I think it's kind of psychological book.
    I want to have a "library" in my home too! ❤ It's my dream ^^ I want to have a big room where in the center is a rocker chair and a blanket and bookshelves with lots of books are all around me! It will be fantastic 😉

    Sorry for the long comment but I wanted to write about books etc. 🙂

    Yeah, we are very similar… and also we have the same name! I'm Anna too (in Polish for short – Ania), ha ha 😀

    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Thank you for such a lovely comment, you’ve made my day!😊 you have such incredible English, don’t be sorry for the mistakes, it’s incredible!
      I agree that teachers often don’t give us enough time to read the books we want to because they give us so many others to study.
      I love the name Anna, I’m so glad it is part of my name!
      Thank you again for commenting, I really appreciate it♥️♥️

      Like

  3. My first book I remember was , I Want To Be A Mechanic by Carla Green. I didn’t turn out to be a mechanic but I would check this out from the library and my dad would read it to me often. I actually have the book on my writing desk because I found it online a while back. Sweet memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

