DIY · Organisation

DIY Cactus Pin Board

Hello everyone, today I have made this adorable cactus pin board which I absolutely love! I’m so happy with how it turned out. If you’d like to find out how to make one for yourself, keep on reading!

The design can easily be altered to anything else that you love or that suits your room decor.

You will need:

  • Cardboard
  • Paint (green and brown)
  • Paintbrushes
  • A pencil
  • Scissors and/or an exacto knife
  • Black felt tip pen or black paint


Start by drawing out your cactus shape onto the cardboard. 

Next cut out the shape. I cut out the large areas of the shape using a pair of scissors but for the more intricate areas I used an exacto knife.

Please be careful when using an exacto knife. Follow the instructions carefully or have a responsible adult do this step for you. Use a cutting board to avoid cutting your furniture.

To use an exacto knife, simply score around the outline of your shape, then carefully and gently continuously cut the edges until you eventually cut through to the other side of the cardboard. 

Then you can start painting. I used various tones of green and brown but you can always just paint the cactus in a block colour. 

Next outline your cactus using a black felt tip or black paint. I then added a few details to the pot and short lines as the prickles on the cactus. I also added a cute little face!

This part is optional because you can always just tack your pin board up to your wall but I decided to hang it using string.

To do this just cut your length of string to hang on the hook and attach each end to the back of your cactus using tape. 

Ta da! All you do now is add your photos, quotes, reminders or anything else to it. I think my new cactus pin board is awesome and I’m so proud of it!

Thank you for reading this post!

Jade Anna x

30 thoughts on “DIY Cactus Pin Board

Leave a Reply

