Book Reviews

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

It’s been a little while since I have posted a book review… So here I am with A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. This is a book I have been wanting to read for over a year now, but I’ve never got around to it. Finally, I sat down and read it, in only two and a half hours. That tells you a) its is an quick, easy read, and b) it’s a BRILLIANT book.img_4444

The novel is an emotional rollercoaster, following the life of Conor O’Malley, who is dealing with his mother dying of cancer, bullies and other family problems. The story was not what I expected, although I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, it definitely wasn’t this.

The monster is an incredible well written character, portraying an almost guardian angel role. It is a story about truth and perspective. For me (this may be my Potterhead showing through) it echoed J.K. Rowling’s character Sirius’s speech “Besides, the world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters. We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.” If you’ve read both Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and A Monster Calls you may see what I mean.

Of course being me, the emotional wreck that I am, I cried for a good solid hour after completing this book. However, the tears weren’t just of sadness, they were rather cathartic, it was an emotional purge.

This book has taught me to be more aware of perspective, what people are going through, and the truths and lies of stories I hear. The book is aimed towards teens/younger children, however, I feel that there is a moral that everyone can learn from it and honestly, the book destroyed me, there are no age limits on a book this perfect. I’m giving this book: img_3880-2

Thank you for reading this blog post!

Jade Anna x


 

2 thoughts on “A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

