Baking

Gingerbread Cupcakes

It’s December, the time of year for festive baking in the lead up to Christmas. Gingerbread is a classic Christmas recipe, but as I made gingerbread men and women for my blog last year, I thought I’d mix it up a little and make cupcakes instead. 

I searched the internet for a perfect gingerbread cake recipe but failed. I wanted to find a recipe that was sweet gingerbread rather than a more savoury approach, but I could find anything out there. So I took it on myself to create my own recipe, and that was when my Mum found a baking book with a sweet gingerbread cake recipe inside. With a few alterations to the original recipe, here it is!


Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 4oz butter
  • 4oz soft brown sugar
  • 4oz self-raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon 
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup

Frosting:

  • 12oz icing sugar
  • 4oz butter
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 2 tsp cinnamon 
  • Sugar gingerbread men
  • Sugar coated sprinkles/balls


Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. 
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar. 
  3. Add in the eggs one at a time whilst adding 1 tbsp of the flour. 
  4. Fold in the rest of the flour, cinnamon, ginger and syrup. 
  5. Spoon the mixture into the cupcake cases and bake for 15-20 minutes. 
  6. Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack
  7. Mix the butter and icing sugar together, then add the cinnamon and syrup. 
  8. Spoon the icing into a piping bag and pipe a swirl of icing on top of each cupcake. 
  9. Top the cakes with the gingerbread men and sprinkles. 


I hope you enjoyed reading this post, the cupcakes were great fun to make and taste delicious!

Jade Anna x


 

7 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

