Thoughts

Superstitions 

Woooooh! It’s October which means the month of Halloween! Woooooooooooh!

I love Halloween if you hadn’t guessed from that enthusiasm and to kick off my Halloween blog posts, here’s the first all about my superstitions, as I’m a very superstitious person! Enjoy. 

  • Don’t walk under ladders. Seriously. Even if it is safer than walking around the ladder, never walk under it, you could end up in an alternate universe or something.
  • Don’t open a packet of crisps or anything in a packet upside down!
  • “Find a penny, pick it up, all day long you’ll have good luck!” It’s true.. probably.
  • Stepping on the cracks on the sidewalk is never good.
  • If a black cat crosses your path, you’re screwed.
  • Bad luck comes in threes. If it’s happened 3 times it won’t happen again!
  • Don’t break a mirror, you’ll have seven years bad luck and I’m not lucky enough as it is.
  • 666…
  • To prevent bad luck after tempting fate, say “touch wood” and ideally touch something made of wood, but if not then your head is fine!
  • Don’t put shoes on the table. I’m not sure if this is just meant for new shoes but I don’t put any shoes on the table just in case.
  • Wink at magpies for luck. “One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl, four for a boy. Five for silver, six for gold, seven for a story never to be told”. It’s ambiguous whether you should wink or salute a magpie, and to all the people who say “why wink at it, it can’t see you?” Why do you salute it then because it clearly can’t see that either?!
  • Cross your fingers for luck. Or toes. Or any limb that is able to cross.
  • Do not open an umbrella indoors even if it’s raining outside and you want to make a fast get away, never, ever, do it.
  • Friday the 13. Okay so nothing bad has ever happened to me on Friday 13 (touch wood), regardless, it still feels unlucky and I do not want to tempt fate.
  • A four leaf clover is lucky, so is a horse shoe, a rabbits foot, bird poop, and every other lucky charm. They’re all lucky!
  • “Something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue”.
  • “Star light, star bright, the first star I see tonight, I wish I may, I wish I might, have the wish I make tonight”. Wishing upon a star, even if as a child I probably used to wish on more flashing aeroplanes than stars themselves.
  • A full moon is always creepy.

Thank you for reading this post, I hope you enjoyed it!

Jade Anna x


 

Leave a Reply

