Book Reviews

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

I really enjoyed reading this, maybe not as much as the original seven books, but still I had a great thrill when re-entering the Harry Potter universe through this play.

image.jpeg

For me, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was the perfect way to conclude the series. It answered any thoughts and questions we had about the ending of the Deathly Hallows, in a new adventure set in the world of Harry Potter.

I loved revisiting the Harry Potter world again (because I totally don’t do that enough – note the sarcasm), and reading about the golden trio all grown up, it was like meeting up with old friends.

However, it’s not so much about Harry anymore. It features heavily on the new generation, in particular Albus (Harry’s youngest son) and Scorpius (Draco’s son), who nearly ruin the entire wizarding world (but I’ll let you read about that!). After reading a lot of reviews online though, it seems there are mixed opinions about the change in story from Harry to the children. Personally, I enjoyed reading it from a new perspective of people, especially a pair that don’t enjoy Hogwarts half us much as they’re expected to.

The story is based on the value of friendship, as well as a father/son relationship and all the while the emphasis of the butterfly effect really sinks in to the reader.

As it is written in play format, it’s different from the other novels. However, I don’t see this as a bad thing, it just takes a little more imagination to connect with the characters and what they are doing. Not to mention each line still carried the magic and emotions that has become accustomed to for a Harry Potter book.

I was actually surprised at myself for disliking Ron in this book/play. I found him to be far too laid-back compared to the series, it was like he was a completely different character. And surprisingly (or perhaps unsurprisingly for those of you who have read this book/play) my favourite character was by far Scorpius Malfoy! I loved how he was written and how he changed the ‘Malfoy name’.

At times I felt it was written much like how fanfiction is written, nevertheless I still loved every moment of reading this so I’m giving it a solid:img_3885
Thank you for reading this post!

Jade Anna x


One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Leave a Reply

