Baking

Vanilla Sugar Cookies

This week I decided to bake some biscuits. I really wanted to go old school and bake the sugar cookies I used to eat in primary school at lunch time, so I found a recipe and gave it a go! I know most people use grams, however I was taught using ounces, I’ve tried to convert it to grams as well but sorry if it appears wrong!

Ingredients:

  • 11oz (300g) of caster sugar
  • 11oz (300g) of unsalted butter
  • 18oz (500g) of plain flour (plus extra for rolling)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp of vanilla essence

IMG_20150925_110504_edit

Instructions:

  1. Into a mixing bowl add the sugar, vanilla and the eggs and mix well.
  2. Add the butter and sift in the flour then keep mixing until a dough forms together.
  3. Knead the dough lightly with your hands on a flour dusted counter (the dough may be quite sticky so don’t use the flour sparingly!)
  4. Wrap the dough in cling film or put it in a plastic bag and place it in the fridge to chill for 2 hours.
  5. Roll out the dough to roughly 5mm on a flour dusted counter (if the dough is too soft, wrap it back up and put it in the fridge again for 10-15 minutes).
  6. Cut the shapes of your biscuits using a cutter of your choice and place in the oven (170C, 325F or gas mark #3) for 15-20 minutes depending on the size of your biscuits. You want the cookies to be light golden brown without being raw in the middle.

This made 29 medium-sized biscuits for me but it depends on the size your cutter is as to how many you get out of the mixture!

IMG_20150925_145853_edit

Decorating:

To decorate my biscuits I used icing sugar and water and added food colouring, then I spread it evenly across the cookie and added sprinkles of my choice. However the thing I like about this recipe is that you can make it for any time of the year and decorate to that theme, such as birthdays, Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day, etc.

IMG_20150925_160319_edit

Thank you for reading!

Jade Anna x


Leave a Reply

