Skincare

My Skincare Routine

  IMG_20150919_150918_edit_edit

This is my skincare routine. I’ve tried out a couple of different products in the past, however after using this routine for the past few months, it’s definitely the best I’ve come across yet! Previously I’ve used a range of other products including day creams, night creams, etc, but I’m a really lazy person so I prefer the simplicity of keeping to one routine that’s flexible night and day! My skin type is combination, oily in some areas, dry in others. I’m not saying my skin is perfect, because it’s not, but it’s improved so much since using these products! Disclaimer: before you continue reading, keep in mind I’m not a skin expert, but this is what works for me.

In the morning I start with the Simple Refreshing Facial Wash Gel, I wash my face with this then rinse with warm water and pat dry with a clean towel. I find it leaves my face feeling clean and fresh and it wipes any dirt or residue away. Next I apply the Simple Purifying Cleansing Lotion using a cotton pad in an upwards circular motion. This is particularly useful where my skin is drier (mainly around my nose) as it helps smooth and soften. Then I use the Simple Soothing Facial Toner with a cotton pad again in an upwards movement. I really like this toner because it isn’t too harsh on my skin whereas past toners I’ve tested have left my skin sore and red. Then finally I use the Simple Hydrating Moisturiser. This always rehydrates my skin after cleansing and toning and is a perfect base to apply make up onto.

For the evening I repeat the same routine, however if I’ve been wearing eye make-up during the day I use the Simple Eye Make-Up Remover with cotton pads. This is a great product as it even removes waterproof mascara but you have to hold the cotton pad over your eye for a while before you wipe away otherwise eye make-up stays there!

Once a week I make sure to exfoliate my skin. I start by using a face mask. I’m currently trying out the Planet Spa face masks by Avon. They came in a set of three including the Dead Sea Minerals Facial Mud Mask (my favourite), the Japanese Sake and Rice Smoothing Face Mask and the Mediterranean Olive Oil Hydrating Face Mask. I actually really like these masks and always recommend Planet Spa products from Avon, I’ve been using them since I was about 10 years old! After removing my face mask I exfoliate using the Simple Oil Balancing Exfoliating Wash. This is probably my favourite product from the Simple range! It’s really gentle on your skin, I’ve found previous exfoliators have left my skin feeling irritated. Make sure you only exfoliate once or twice a week so you don’t over-exfoliate, however make sure you do, because it removes dry, flaky skin, breaks up whiteheads and smooths the skins texture. Always finish by applying a moisturiser after to lock in moisture.

Regarding lips, mine are always really dry (as a result of me being lazy and often forgetting lip balm) however when I do remember, I use Vaseline. Some lip balms are designed to dry out your lips to trick you into keep re-applying and buying the product again, but I’ve found Vaseline is dependable and it hydrates my lips. My favourite is the Rosy Lips because not only does it moisturise, it also tints a slight pink and smells really nice!

I find Simple is an amazing brand because it is really affordable (good for a student budget) as well as being kind on sensitive skin! I hope you enjoyed reading this post!

Jade Anna x


5 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine

  1. (please kill me I know Singapore is losing VERY BADLY by now :P)

    I used to have very sensitive skin too and when SIMPLE products were launched I gave them a shot. They worked and I’m really happy that I do not need to put up with products that proclaim to be “suitable for sensitive skin” but are actually really harsh.

    As for lips, certainly VERY importantly to keep them moisturised! Mentholatum products don’t quite do a good job for me, as many re-applications are often necessary throughout the day which means it is rather ineffective. Once upon a time I chanced upon Smith’s Rosebud Salve at Sephora, and it’s really quite awesome! Not sure if you have it over at your side, my pretty Jade?

    Love and miss you much,
    Cher xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

